Napa Valley aka Getting Out Of Town. Once Again.

Getting to Napa Valley went as follows:

Woke up at 3:30 a.m. to get to the Russian friend’s bus leaving from 30th Street Station in Philly.  Yep – that’s right – 3:30 a.m.  Russian friend’s bus was slated to leave at 6:30 a.m.  It takes, generally 45 minutes to an hour to get to the train station.  If it were up to me, we would have left at about 5 a.m.  Someone (let’s call him my Dad) was paranoid about not knowing the fickleness of morning rush hour traffic into the city, and insisted on leaving by 4:10, 4:15 a.m.  Packed like mad so that I could carry on for a 2 and a 1/2 week trip.

Having a houseguest – well that is another post, I suppose.

Dropped off the Russian and then proceeded to the airport – it’s just an easy hop onto 76 East from 30th Street to get to PHL. Roughly 9 miles or 20 minutes, easy.  Instead, this person, my Dad, insists upon taking 76 West to 476 South to 95 North to the airport – about 35 miles (or 45 minutes).

Sigh.

I decided to close my eyes as he insisted upon going the longer and much more time consuming (nearly 4 times as long!) route – the way that he was most comfortable with, the way that he knew.  Even though there was a GPS system in the car.  Even though I was tracking our location on Google maps on my phone.

So I get to the airport at about 5:45 a.m., and my flight leaves at 8:15 a.m., but gets delayed and leaves at 9:26 a.m. instead.

PHL–> SFO via DFW.

Conclusions: Never have my Dad give me a ride into the city, around the city, or at all, if I can help it.

The trip commenced the first day with my arrival of SFO and a head cold, which proceeded to become a full blown illness 24 hours later. Bought some meds and gave it everything I had – EmergenC, green tea, Dayquil, XXX Vitaminwater.  Still went biking in beautiful Napa valley, along with some wine tastings and such.  Had some amazing dinners up there – also, ad hoc was quite possibly the most luxurious dining experience I’ve had in quite some time.

But, man – if you’re ill, you can’t fully enjoy a vacation as you normally would.  We drove from Napa valley to LA – and it was one long and ugly, tortuous beast of a drive – 10 hours, including stops (but not many), a headache, nausea, and full blown motion sickness in play.  I started getting hunger pains that night.

Another conclusion: No more road trips or long car rides for me. Will get sick.

Where did my youthful exuberance and hardy stamina go ?

Leave a Reply

